Fried Apple Pie

 

I go hard on my cravings, but usually when I have an ingredient, I think of something to make with it. Last week, I visited my cousins at Sakumono and my aunty gave me some juicy apples. I am not such a huge fan on chewing so I had to think of what to do with it. Apple crumble…..hmmm yes but then I thought of doing something different and I had dough in the fridge so….

FRIED APPLE PIES…enjoy making it!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup butter/ margarine
  • 4-5 tablespoons ice water (Very old with ice cubes)

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl, combine the flour and the salt. Cut in very cold butter or margarine with a pastry blender, two forks or your fingers until the mixture resembles a coarse meal.
  2. Do not overwork it, stop it when the mixture resembles coarse sand
  3. Gradually add enough ice water to the mixture and mix until a ball of dough is formed.
  4. Pour the dough onto a lightly floured sheet of plastic wrap and form into a disc. For use later, press dough into a disc and store in freeze.
  5. For immediate use, roll out dough a lightly floured table and roll with a pin.
  6. When rolled, cut the dough in circle or any shape required.

Apple filling

Ingredients

  • 3 cored and chopped apples
  • 3 tablespoon butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 teaspoon corn flour

On medium heat, cook all ingredients in a pan until apples are soft and almost melting

Assembling.

Take 2 teaspoon of your apple sauce and place in the middle of the dough. Quantity of the sauce depends on the size of the dough, you can make them super cute or jumbo size

Fold dough over sauce and prick with fork for a design at the edges, store in the fridge for 30 minutes to firm up or when you are ready to fry.

Deep fry pies in oil for about 10 minutes on each side, be sure to make sure you don’t burn them.

Remove fried pies and drain in paper towel…sprinkle with cinnamon sugar or plain sugar and take a big bite

Enjoy,

Mukasechic 🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. This pie really looks Good and i am sure it wasn’t hard to make. I like pies but i only bake them to stare at them! ( my 5″1 160 pound body wont allow me eat them! ) but i love love me some apple pies!

    1. mukasechic says:

      hahahahaha …yes its very easy to make, honey do indulge sometimes.

      1. Hahahahahaha… I wish it were that easy. Sometimes i do over indulge. But life is short and letting your guard down never hurt anybody. I will try my hands on your lovely and simple recipe and when i do, i will surely upload a picture. Thank you chica.

Leave a Reply

